Thoughts on Social Media and its Role in Society

My name’s Daniel and I am currently in my third year here at the University of Wollongong and am completing a Communications and Media Studies degree with a major in Marketing and Advertising. Welcome to my blog, which will be home to rambling about the media in relation to BCM240.

After first activating my Facebook account about 5 or 6 years ago, I’ve noticed the way the website has completely changed, and how the way the user acts has changed. Personally I am more reserved, and don’t know why someone would care what I ate for breakfast. That’s what I don’t get about social media. No disrespect to those who do care what others have for breakfast, it’s just not my cup of tea.

After reading fellow student’s introductions on their respective blogs, many regard themselves as ‘social media addicts’. I’ve seen my fair share of these online, and personally I’d say I am quite the opposite. I barely use Facebook and don’t use Twitter. But I do have an interest in the way social media is used, and the social phenomena that accompanies it. I guess I’m surprised at how much society depends on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram to keep up with what’s new. I mean, I think it’s interesting to see how our lives are becoming ever reliant on social media to interact with others, and how much unrelated activities are being linked with social media sites, such as logging into unrelated websites with your Facebook account. To me social media has become more business focused. So I guess that’s where I fit into the media space.

Leave a Reply

